Story: Adelaide Critics Circle Award Winners 2012

The Adelaide Critics Circle awards for 2012 went off to an almost capacity crowd at Higher Ground on the evening of the 3rd December 2012. All in attendance enjoyed an open bar and the opportunity to catch up with fellow artists and friends. The winners for awards were as follows:

Individual Award
- Robert Macfarlane, singer, St John Passion (Adelaide Chamber Singers)

Group Award
- Windmill Theatre, School Dance

Emerging Artist of the Year
- Kate Cheel, actor, The Glass Menagerie (State Theatre Company of SA)

Independent Arts Foundation Award for Innovation
- Adam Synnott, composer and media artist, Pari passu (Leigh Warren & Dancers)

Individual Award – Amateur Theatre
- Michael Baldwin, actor, Antigone (University of Adelaide Theatre Guild)

Group Award – Amateur Theatre
- Marie Clark Musical Theatre, Forbidden Broadway

Award for Visual Arts
- Matt Huppatz

Lifetime Achievement Award
- Don Barker

Award winners received a cash prize and a trophy featuring the ACC’s unique design.  The ACColades are unique in Australia for including a cash prize.  The main funding for the awards is from Arts SA, and the Independent Arts Foundation funds a special Innovation award which recognises and encourages ground-breaking developments and exciting experimentation.

The Adelaide Critics Circle awards are South Australia’s leading annual awards for achievement in the performing and visual arts, and are the only awards of their type in Australia to include a cash prize that directly benefits the winners, their careers, and their reputations.

The ACColades, now in their 15th year, are the annual awards of the Adelaide Critics Circle, a group of 25 Adelaide-based critics, writing for the mainstream and alternative print and electronic media.

Paul Rodda